Skip to content

DEVELOPING STORY: New Democratic Challenger Steps Into The Fray to Face Golden Prince

January 26, 2010

I guess it’s true what they say: when it rains, it pours.

With one candidate already announced against State Senator, now a young Democrat has declared he’ll also challenge the Senator. His reason? The Senator has fallen “out of touch with the issues of the middle class.”

So it seems that Golden, who has not been challenged in either a primary or general election since 2002, will now face one of two potential Democratic challengers this year. This all begs the question (or indeed “the question begs”): is Senator Golden’s assumed political omnipotence dissolving?

The answer appears to be yes.

Here’s the story from Courier Life:

Twenty-nine-year-old Gravesend resident Mike DiSanto is still in grad school, but he wants to be your next state senator.

“We need more regular citizens to stand up and run for office,” DiSanto told this newsapper.

The president of New York University’s Integrated Marketing Association used Community Board 11’s January meeting on 84th Street in Bensonhurst as an opportunity to announce his intention to challenge three-term Republican State Senator Marty Golden for his 22nd District seat.

“He’s fallen out of touch with the issues of the middle class,” DiSanto says. “Maybe if he had a mortgage to pay, or rode the train. He had eight years, and our transit system is a mess.”

Fourteen months ago, Daniel Squadron became the youngest member of the New York State Senate representingDistrict 25 voters in both downtown Brooklyn and lower Manhattan.

Should DiSanto win, he couldbe the youngest senator in the legislature.

“People may criticize me for my youth and for a lack of formal experience in politics,” DiSanto says. “Youth is not a weakness. We have politicians in Albany with years of experience but they have not helped the people of New York.”

DiSanto, a registered Democrat, supports same-sex marriage, wants to institute term limits and believes there is too much waste in Albany that could be used for education.

“It is apparent to everyone that the state legislature is totally dysfunctional,” DiSanto says. “We need to get rid of the bad apples and put in people that will implement change.”

The lifelong West 8th Street resident also says that new programs need to be implemented to help first-time homebuyers.

When I was growing up in the 80s there was more a sense of community,” DiSanto says. “A lot of the kids that I grew up with couldn’t afford living here. That really hurt the sense of community that we had. I hope we can resurrect that feeling of community by insuring that our families can stay here.”

Stretching from Bay Ridge to Marine Park, the district encompasses some of the most conservative sections of the borough.

Nevertheless, DiSanto doesn’t believe his outspoken support for same-sex marriage will be a detriment to his campaign.

“It’s about equal rights,” he says. “This is an innate conviction – everybody deserves equal rights. That’s just a part of me. I hope people can understand that.”

DiSanto attributes much ofhis inspiration to run for office to his late father Mario, a school teacher and activist in the Italian-American community who ran for school board before he died of bone cancer in 1994.

“I think about my father who wanted so much to see a vibrant community here,” DiSanto explains, remembering how, as a child,he’d oftenaccompany his dad inside the voting booth at David Boody Junior High School on Avenue S.

DiSanto’s mom Josephine, still works for the Department of Education.

Despite the odds, DiSanto, is confident about his chances in the fall.

He hopes to appear on the Working Families line as well as the Democratic.

“I’m confident that I’m going to win,” DiSanto says. “Through my campaign I can encourage more young people to take an active role in government. There are so many smart people that aren’t given a chance to be heard.”

At 29, DiSanto could have a very long political career, indeed, should he be victorious. But that’s not his plan.

“I’m not a career politician,” DiSanto says. “I just want to get in there and help out, and pave the way for somebody else with new ideas.”

***

So what does it mean that a man who has not been challenged before is now being challenged for the first time?

Is the Senator losing his touch with his constituents? Did a deal with the Democrats fall through (we’ve heard rumors of such détentes with Democrats)?

I must confess we here at Atlas Shrugs were very displeased with the Senator’s choice to endorse Craig Eaton for another term as Chairman of the Brooklyn GOP. The failures and losses that this party has endured under his tenure are unprecedented. The amount of division and scorn that have erupted in the party over its mismanagement and lack of success has been massive.

The Senator bears responsibility for that.

We are also watching his and the party’s actions in the 44th City Council District race with a close eye and are concerned over what has transpired thus far in that race.

And lest we forget the video of The Golden Prince at an ACORN rally last year, which has angered many Republicans given the national scandal that erupted over that corrupt organization’s controversial election “efforts.”

Thus far, we have not seen any penitence from the Senator for that severe blunder…

So, we will be watching this race very closely as the Senator faces a challenge for the first time in eight years.

What an interesting race it will be.

25 Comments
  1. Bayridgistanian permalink
    January 26, 2010 2:10 am

    Golden is going down, and it’s his own fault. My fellow constituents are not pleased.

  2. January 26, 2010 7:32 am

    I am voting for Senator Golden. My team will be actively supporting him as well.

    I understand that people are upset that Senator Golden for various reasons. However, I am not willing to sell my vote, or that of my community to any liberal.

  3. Wag-the-Dog permalink
    January 26, 2010 9:29 am

    The Democrats will do what they will do.

    A key milestone for the Republican side and the State Senator, formerly known as Prince, will be a preliminary interview with the Executive Committee of the Fiorello LaGuardia Republican Organization. Key players in the FLRO have discussed holding such an interview early in the 2010 election cycle. Expect the FLRO execs to “invite” the State Senator some time in late February or early March.

  4. Marty from Bay Ridge permalink
    January 26, 2010 12:27 pm

    I must agree. I am also concerned with Sen. Golden’s actions. I’m a constituent in the district and have been following this blog since around the beginning. I gotta say that ACORN rally skeeved me.

  5. Ridge Republican permalink
    January 26, 2010 3:04 pm

    Republicans and ACORN? Not a good combo buddy

  6. Robert Feeley permalink
    January 26, 2010 3:26 pm

    Other Nut Groups are Replacing ACORN

    http://stupidassnews.wordpress.com/2009/10/28/acorns-demise-may-benefit-other-nut-groups/

  7. Mikey permalink
    January 26, 2010 10:10 pm

    Ugh, I can’t stand seeing Golden with that fake smile and that peeling skin. Greasy politician. I always was suspicious of him, and now I’m really suspicious.

    • Bill permalink
      January 26, 2010 10:36 pm

      The drink does that to a person in addition to cooking a few brain cells.

  8. Wag-the-Dog permalink
    January 29, 2010 10:17 am

    On a related front, the candidacy of courthouse lawyer BK, whose name was bandied about as a possible DEM challenger to SSMG, may be on life-support already. BK hails from the 49th StarZ-n-Strippers Club (although he lives in the 60th AD). Joe, Vinny and Pete are pretty sure they have him on a short leash. It seems that BK really might not have the $$$ for a strong state senate run outside of the organized DEM operation.

    SS Sampson might be the wild-card here—he might want SSMG and his money tied up in SW Brooklyn rather than in some “really contested” districts elsewhere, also there’s some payback due for the recent Republican attempt to steal some leadership/control in the less-than-representative chamber of the legislature.

    Still working on some inside stuff on DiSanto.

  9. Norman permalink
    February 1, 2010 7:31 am

    There’s a dark horse candidate. A fairly conservative young Democrat from Bay Ridge. I heard he may be throwing his hat into the ring as well and if he does, I think he’ll give Golden a run for his money. I guess time will tell…

  10. Wag-the Dog permalink
    February 1, 2010 9:49 am

    Norman,

    I’m intrigued and interested in this “fairly conservative young Democrat from Bay Ridge”. If you can give me some more info, I’ll talk to him about a possible “Republicans for_____.” Since SSMG and his two (2) county chairmen have seen fit to endorse Democrat “Greenbacks” over Republican Jonathan Judge, I guess all Republicans and Conservatives can do it.

    BTW, I think the other blog TJIUA has it wrong. This wag never said he was running for anything in 2010. W-T-D only mentioned the certainty of a primary and referred to a “101st” candidacy—whenever that comes. Right now, the Wag’s job precludes it—of course things might change on that front.

  11. Mike DiSanto permalink
    February 1, 2010 1:00 pm

    I want to thank all of you for giving me the opportunity to be a part of this conversation. Although I am a Democrat, I know that we share similar views on many of the issues in this district and across our state. I would like to meet with your groups to discuss my platforms including education and transportation and how we can work together to cut waste and end corruption in Albany. South Brooklyn has been ignored for far too long when it comes to funding. We must cut waste in Albany and direct funds to education so that our kids have a chance to compete with India and China in this dynamic global economy. I remember how vibrant our communities were when I was growing up in the 80’s. We must restore that sense of community and ensure our families and kids can continue to afford to live here.

    • Thank You, DiSanto permalink
      February 1, 2010 1:33 pm

      I thank you for joining this dialogue. Although I am a lifelong Republican, Sen. Golden has done some things that frankly concern me, as one of his constituents. And, incidentally, if he wants to behave like a Democrat, there’s no reason for me not to consider another Democrat in the race. I hope that whatever the outcome is, what is best for our district, borough, and state is done.

    • I Like Mike permalink
      February 1, 2010 2:41 pm

      You Go Mike! Thank You for Running!!

    • Straight permalink
      February 1, 2010 9:27 pm

      The only view you share is that this blog hates Golden. I am never voting for you!

  12. marty betrayed us permalink
    February 2, 2010 1:59 pm

    so golden refuses to support his own party and endorse democrats. why can’t we, his forgotten constituents, return the favor? it’s as though he doesn’t care about our support and our devotion to him over the years. he just comes out supporting democrats and democratic causes. he should be ashamed of himself. if he doesn’t start acting like a republican soon, he’s gonna learn who his friends really are. i think we’ve already learned whether he’s our friend or not.

  13. Mike DiSanto permalink
    February 3, 2010 3:25 pm

    This comment is in response to “Straight”. I am not asking you to vote for me. It is my duty to represent all of the people of District 22, whether Democrat or Republican. If I do not get an opportunity to hear what you have to say and incorporate your ideas, I am not acting on behalf of everyone. The problems in Albany transcend party lines and we have the most dysfunctional legislature in the nation. It is time to have open dialogue, something that rarely happens in the Senate. Debate is how things get accomplished. If I am unable to represent the interests of the people then I do not deserve to be re-elected and I would not want to return to Albany.

    • I Like Mike permalink
      February 3, 2010 5:43 pm

      Run Mike Run! You have my vote and many many more!

  14. TJIUA is evil permalink
    February 3, 2010 3:27 pm

    What they’ve done to Susan is uncalled for.

    Only one person can do this – that is the bulldog, evil, Political Consultant, Gerry O’Brien. Gerry O’Brien consistently turns against his clients. Gerry O’Brien consistently uses dirt, smearing and malice to accomplish whatever evil goals he has.

    Craig Eaton and Marty Golden – be afraid, be very afraid . . . not of the folks on Atlas, but of Gerry O’Brien. You, the Kings County GOP, and many others have paid Gerry O’Brien for his evil services. In the process, he has learned your Achilles heel. He will use it against you . . . or is he doing so already? Are you beholden to Gerry O’Brien because he already has you where he wants you? Are you trapped in his evil lair?

    Beware! Beware! The evil one O’Brien will get you, too!

  15. Bay Ridge Man permalink
    February 5, 2010 3:13 pm

    I wish Mike DiSanto the best. May the best man win!

  16. I Like Mike permalink
    February 5, 2010 3:49 pm

    Keep it high and tight Mike!

  17. Norman permalink
    March 23, 2010 12:25 am

    @ Wag-the Dog: The man’s name is Justin Brannon. Not sure if he’s running or not. I just see him around a lot lately. Belongs to a Democratic club I belong to.

  18. Sergeant Archibald Cutter permalink
    March 23, 2010 10:21 am

    Sorry, missed a turn on the information highway— posted at another thread by mistake— like going off with Din and finding THE TEMPLE OF GOLD—

    Norman,

    Wag-the-Dog is “retired”, but you know how that goes sometimes; look at my chum, Tommy Ballantine. He thought he was out, next thing you know, he’s up to his eyeballs in Thuggies with me, Mac and The Regimental Beastie [cf. bhisti].

    I heard that WTG reached out to your Brannan about three weeks ago– left a message with some woman, but you know how that goes sometimes.
    Anyways, no call back from the [former?] entertainer, designer, world traveller, and [current?] fund-raiser, investor, advisor, etc…..

    The word is that Brannan might be uptight over the name and graphics of one of his [prior?] [punk…hard…heavy…new wave…whatever?] bands.

    For all that most people care about such things,I’d just tell Brannan, “‘For the love of death and Kali’, don’t worry about it.” The people are anti-incumbent; they want change. Get everything out early and it’ll be gone by the November elections.

    After all, if I can call myself Archibald Cutter, and Archibald Leach can call himself Cary Grant, then Justin Lee Brannan can rebrand himself the next Irish Pope, if he wants. Becoming State Senator that’s just like a short walk in the Vail of Kashmir for one, who performed in a former sniper-plagued civil war zone, and who is already so accomplished as Brannan seems to be— .

  19. Norman permalink
    March 24, 2010 10:05 am

    Brannan reminds me of a young Winston Churchill. He even looks like the guy. I don’t know Brannan personally or else I’d pass along the message to him. Alls I know is that Marty has got to go. The time has come and its going to take someone like a young Churchill to rally the young people to come out and vote to depose our fearless misleader, Martin J. Golden.

Trackbacks

  1. Thanks Fellow Atlas Readers! – Preview of What’s Coming Up Next « Atlas Shrugs in Brooklyn

Comments are closed.

