Skip to content

As Comment War Brews, Atlas Searches For Answers

December 30, 2009

Well, we don’t know what happened in the past week, but it appears a heated comment war on Atlas brewed very quickly while many of us were enjoying some winter R and R.

After we noticed a flurry of extremely disturbing comments (not satire, but vicious, targeted attacks) and received emails from many concerned Atlas readers, we have instituted an investigation into who has been commenting and why. These comments were, in our opinion, affecting the experience of many readers of our blog, which moved us to respond.

As a result, we have blocked comments that were either repetitive and spam-like or just too vitriolic to permit, and until the investigation is concluded, they will remain blocked. Once we determine the sources and the veracity of their content, we will decide what course of action is best to take with these comments overall.

Some of you have expressed concern that we have been able to view the IP address of commentators on the blog. Please note, we do not have the ability to personally identify who is behind an IP address. Our ability to view IP addresses is only meant for the purposes of identifying spam or blocking outrageous and/or fraudulent comments. We cannot personally identify you unless you voluntarily offer that information in your comment and we independently confirm your identity by emailing you. As such, please know that your identify and privacy are protected and such information is never disclosed to anyone.

We here at Atlas want to apologize to the readers for this exchange and vow to be much more watchful of this type of commentary in the future.

We suspect that many involved in the comment war were members of the Bay Ridge Cabal. When we learn more, we will let you all know.

It’s a tragedy that anyone would take advantage and abuse the privileges of our open forum here on Atlas.

We are confident, however, that this kind of exchange will not happen again, and we thank all of you for your understanding and continued readership.

48 Comments
  1. Atlas Shrugs: Marty GoldenEye permalink
    December 30, 2009 3:42 am

    Dedicated to AAA, R.I.P, initiator of failed Counter-Atlas Movement. Final Mission: Operation Triple A (aka “Marty GoldenEye”):

    Goldeneye, I found his weakness,
    Goldeneye, he’ll do what I please,
    Goldeneye, no time for sweetness,
    But a bitter kiss will bring him to his knees…

    See reflections on the water
    More than darkness in the depths
    See him surface in every shadow
    On the wind I feel his breath

    Goldeneye, I found his weakness
    Goldeneye, he’ll do what I please
    Goldeneye, no time for sweetness
    But a bitter kiss will bring him to his knees

    You’ll never know how I watched you
    From the shadows as a child
    You’ll never know how it feels
    To be the one who’s left behind
    You’ll never know the days, the nights,
    The tears, the tears I’ve cried
    But now my time has come
    And time, time is not on your side.

    See him move through smoke and mirrors
    Feel his presence in the crowd
    Other girls, they gather around him
    If I had him I wouldn’t let him out.

    Goldeneye, not lace or leather
    Golden chains take him to the spot
    Goldeneye, I’ll show him forever
    It’ll take forever to see what I’ve got.

    You’ll never know how I watched you
    From the shadows as a child
    You’ll never know how it feels
    To get so close and be denied
    It’s a gold and honey trap I’ve got for you tonight
    Revenge it’s a kiss, this time I won’t miss
    Now I’ve got you in my sight
    With a goldeneye…

    Kiss, kiss, sweety. You’ll be missed 😉

  2. Moonraker permalink
    December 30, 2009 8:24 am

    The Bay Ridge Cabal aka “The Eaton Junta” is trying to discredit Atlas Shrugs in Brooklyn. They are trying to cast doubt on what Atlas is trying to do – reform and improve the Brooklyn Republican Party – and “shine the light” on numerous things and that have been inappropriate transactions that have occurred by the current Eaton Junta.

    Keep pressing on Atlas!

    • Atlas Shrugs: Marty GoldenEye permalink
      December 30, 2009 11:38 pm

      Nice one, Moonraker 😉

      Meanwhile:

      Investigating AAA’s final mission, Code Named “Marty GoldenEye,” 007 and Dagny Taggart come upon District Leader Russell “Jaws” Gallo.

  3. Margaret Anderson permalink
    December 30, 2009 8:43 am

    suggestion to John Galt,

    re: your article above: “After we noticed a flurry of extremely disturbing comments (not satire, but vicious, targeted attacks) and received emails from many concerned Atlas readers….” etc.

    If I may respectfully suggest, can you or one of the team writers highlight one or two recent disturbing comments that Atlas team writers think are “vicious, targeted” attacks? Just so the readers of this blog can see what is considered by Atlas to be vicious and targeted.

    • December 30, 2009 9:13 am

      I agree with Margaret.

    • John Galt permalink*
      December 30, 2009 2:27 pm

      I shall oblige and disclose some sample comments later this evening, Margaret.

  4. Firewall permalink
    December 30, 2009 12:32 pm

    Frankly, I’m glad Atlas finally is screening off some of these ridiculous attacks. I mean, it should have been done a long time ago. I hope when this investigation is concluded, we learn just who was behind these attacks.

  5. Assassins Not Welcome permalink
    December 30, 2009 12:49 pm

    The sheer number of repetitive, nonstop BS coming from AAA and his one or two acolytes was just too much. Atlas has still not taken down some of his/her comments, and so they’re plain for anyone to see.

    Look, whenever Atlas has written a post, it either cites evidence, identifies rumors as rumors or refers to an earlier post that discussed an issue more thoroughly. Whenever these attackers commented, they never used their names (ok, neither do the Atlas writers) but they did not put down any source for their accusations. They were also so amazingly nasty, I was stunned by the back and forth I saw. I says a lot about the delicate state of the party right now…

    Not to mention, at least when Atlas started this blog last summer, they were much more deferential to Eaton and gave him the benefit of the doubt. It wasn’t until he was obviously ignoring Atlas Shrugs (hello, he appeared on the blog as himself, right?) that Atlas’s tone became more anti-Eaton. I think they must have felt like they were giving this guy an opportunity to do what was right and he just kept on doing what was wrong. That’s my opinion.

    Why did the Anti-atlas, pro-Eaton people do this? I think they knew Atlas was on to something (either Atlantic yards, the Bob Capano race, or the financials of the party) that they did everything in their power to distract from the debate. It’s the surest sign of being desperate…

    • December 30, 2009 2:31 pm

      Forget me for scoffing at the “why did the anti-Atlas / pro-Eaton people do this?” line. Spare me. Proponents of this site are going to play the victim card?

      The fine folks here at Atlas laid out the playing field. The commenters here have been free to run roughshod over the terrain. There have been vicious, targeted attacks, name-calling, all kinds of ill-mannerisms long before this latest flame war. And all was not only allowed, but encouraged. Some just didn’t like the bitter pill that they were dishing out.

      But when people go after other people than your regular punching bags in the “establishment”, then the censors step out of the shadows. Who knew “Atlas” was a euphemism for “Big Brother”?

      Long story short – you reap what you sow.

      ***

      OK, enough “I told you so” nonsense, I believe in moderation, not censorship. The only posts that should be deleted are those with profanity or threats of violence (that’s pretty much standard stuff) . I only hope that whatever policy is adopted is applied equally to all comments, not just the ones the author(s) disagree with.

      In fact, let me go a step beyond hoping for a good policy. I volunteer to help.

      I have written TOS policies for websites in the past, and have set up moderation rules, and I am currently working on such a project for a national publication’s online forum. I’d be glad to talk to the ownership here and collaborate on such a policy for here.

      As I’ve said on other sites, my biggest frustration with Atlas is that there is a lot of enthusiasm and energy here that, if used properly, can be helpful to all for this election and in the future. I hope you take me up on my offer.

      • Franky C. permalink
        December 30, 2009 3:00 pm

        Listen, if you’ve been reading all along, you know the attacks against people who are not elected officers of the county organization, like the Brooklyn Young Republicans, started just in the past few weeks. I’ve never seen comments like those ever in all my time reading the blog since late August.

        I noticed, for example, that Jonathan Judge was called a nazi. That’s a far cry from Russell Gallo referring to Lucretia Regina-Potter as the “Reverend” Regina-Potter. At least she’s a political candidate for political office and a fellow district leader…

        I think you need to get your facts together, Gene B. And enough of this paternalistic “I told you so” stuff. You’ve been reading the blog, yet have you ever emailed the Atlas people to give them your suggestions? Are you just punching keys for negative criticism or sending emails and pounding pavement?

        To be frank with you, I don’t know a single thing you’ve done to remedy the problems discussed on the blog about financial mismanagement, the website, the party in fighting, etc. while you were a candidate. I can’t say I know you well, but before you get all condescending on us readers, why don’t you actually tell us what you’ve done to remedy these things or how it is that it wasn’t until this blog came up that I saw ANY movement on the part of the Bay Ridge leaders.

      • Jimmy Crews permalink
        December 30, 2009 3:10 pm

        You come on this site to comment and lecture when you wrote a story called SHRUG OFF ATLAS?

        In what universe do you think that endears you to readers like me? You could have been more moderating in your tone. Instead, you just alienated readers like me.

        And I agree with Franky C. Why have you only criticized in comment form? No email to Atlas? All I recall you doing was telling people to “pound pavement.” How is pounding pavement going to fix the way the party spends money, chooses candidates and holds all of its events in Bay Ridge? It won’t.

        That’s why I’m glad this site as held them to task for their errors. Someone has to.

      • Donna Bella permalink
        December 30, 2009 3:16 pm

        Gene, I respected your comments before, but I have to say you kind of undermined your credibility by writing a blatantly anti-Atlas post. And I can’t believe its coincidence that you turned up on the blog when AAA was commenting out of the blue… Forgive me for being suspicious.

      • December 30, 2009 10:12 pm

        Franky C.: I have been here since day 1 commenting on and off, and for the most part, the insults were one-sided. Only when the you-know-what started flying in the opposite direction is something done. It’s convenient.

        As far as private comments to the owners of the blog: (1) I only talk privately with people whom I can address by name and (2) my public comments with my name attached is enough accountability. I won’t say something in private different than I would publicly.

        Your question asking about what I’ve done assumes that the “problems”stated on this site are undisputed fact. Where I see problems, I engage leaders directly and collaborate on ways to fix things. I don’t anonymously whine and make a YouTube movie.

        You want to know what I’ve done? It ain’t about me, but you can look it up. Check out my candidacy, and the visibility it brought for the party to a new area where Republican candidates are scarce. Then check out how my Democratic opponent wrote a 40+ page letter outlining the strength of my campaign and its visibility to the CFB in order to “extort” more taxpayer money for his campaign. Then, look up where my contributions have gone. You’ll find names like D’Ottavio, Zablocki, Mendola and Regina-Potter. Go to a Republican event, whether run by the Party, the YRs, or candidates, and I’ll see you there. Go to events run by Marty Golden and you may see me volunteering. If you’ll looking for me in the summer, I’m most likely petitioning somewhere in Brooklyn.

        Whether you know what I do or not and whether you’ve seen change before this site or not, frankly, I don’t give a damn.

        Jimmy Chews: I’m not looking to endear myself to anyone. I’m about helping the party. I offered help to direct the energy on this site in a productive direction that will not fracture things further and maybe open a real dialogue with responsibility and accountability. I offered to start to build a modicum of credibility, because as of now, this site is currently viewed as a joke by party leadership. Right now, it’s wasted talent. It can be more than that, if the BS ends.

        Donna Bella: Re-read my posting, I wrote asking for party unity, faulting BOTH sides. My position on how Atlas conducts its “business” has been consistent since day one.

        As far as being AAA – I am definitely not. Besides knowing that the correct phrasing is “it begs the question…”, not “the question begs…”, I have no qualms telling anyone to their face exactly what I think of them.

      • Franky C. permalink
        December 30, 2009 11:11 pm

        You said…

        “I offered to start to build a modicum of credibility, because as of now, this site is currently viewed as a joke by party leadership.”

        …oh, how wrong you are, Gene B. The party leadership is obsessed with this site. It consumes them. All they do is read it and send people out to comment on this blog.

        You see, it’s statements like that that demonstrate that you’re out of the loop. I mean, it wasn’t until after this site said that the Brooklyn GOP website needed to be changed that it was changed. It wasn’t until after this site talked about the terror trials that Eaton took a stand. If you look at the Brooklyn GOP website, the “Chairman’s Corner” is basically dedicated to Atlas. The website even copies the internet platform of this site. And it looks terrible, no? But they HAD to make it wordpress or they would be one-upped by the blog that they hate and, frankly, never responded to when it gave them plenty of opportunities to do so.

        What about Eaton’s charity moving to a new address? Pretty obvious that never would have happened if Eaton hadn’t noticed the post on the blog. These are just a few of the things I’ve noticed…

        Also, I think it’s telling that AAA would never admit that he was political smear merchant Jeffrey Kraus.

        https://atlasshrugsinbrooklyn.wordpress.com/2009/11/02/bob-capano-enlists-anti-zablocki-democrat-kraus-to-get-out-the-vote/

        How can the party maintain dealings with this nasty, anti-Republican hired Democrat?

        I hope, when Atlas investigates, they email him and ask for an answer about that. I think that’s reasonable.

      • Bruno permalink
        December 30, 2009 11:14 pm

        First and foremost I would like to wish everyone a very Happy New Year!

        Gene,
        While it is commendable that you have been working so hard for the Party, and have become a very visable and active participating supporter of Republican ideals, you are very misguided.

        Since you are new to the “game” and are so eager to please, one can consider your singular viewpoint deriving from lack of experience and knowledge. You have known no other chairman to compare your current idolized chairman to. Perhaps a learned historical aspect of the Real Brooklyn Republican Party and the glory it once was, not very long ago,
        might change your disposition.

        Do not allow these people who call themselves leaders, misdirect you or misinform you. You ran a great campaign and established a firm Republican base. How is the current party leadership investing in the seeds sown of your endeavours? What will the Party do to maintain your base? They will do nothing. You will discover in time Gene B. that
        it is not convenient for them to nurture your area. One can hope that it will not be too late for you to realize this.

        Felicitations!!

      • December 31, 2009 1:00 am

        To enlighten Franky and others:

        The website changes were planned way before Atlas even existed. Website updates / Re-design was discussed at Executive Board meetings as early as the winter of 2009. WordPress is one of the simplest and widely-used CM systems out there, is it so shocking that it would be used? I would’ve preferred Joomla, but that’s just me. Atlas wasn’t even a twinkle in anyone’s eye at the time the county’s plan for the good ol’ Interweb was decided. But you knew all that, being an insider and all….

        The new site is a work in progress, and I believe it is improving and will continue to improve as it is regularly updated.

        As far as the Chairman’s Corner, I think that was a response to more than Atlas, but to the current internet climate in general in the past year. You’d have to ask him. But assume what you like.

        I love how people think that there are marching orders to come on this site to disrupt it. No such thing. People choose to visit – or not visit – for their own reasons. No conspiracy. Sorry.

        As far as the charity run by the Eaton family, I couldn’t tell you why the address was changed. But the fact that you and others have brought this up and continue to harp on that personally disgusts me. This charity was created by a family whose son has a horrible illness to bring comfort to other families in similar situations, and you use to point to some kind of phantom impropriety like a pawn in a game. A reasonable person would appreciate that there are such kind-hearted, caring people in this world that extend themselves to others, not hold them out for ridicule because they do.

        Re: Mr. Kraus – don’t know him, never met him. Read about many things in the papers about him. Assuming that he is doing such disruptive things as he has been repeatedly accused of on here without a shred of proof speaks once again to how assumption and fact are blurred here at Atlas.

        But I will say that I am amused not only by the assumptions made around here / in this post and others, but how those assumptions becomes undisputed fact later on. And we all know what happens with assumptions…

        ***

        Bruno: Hope you are enjoying this holiday season. Just a few points:

        – I’m afraid that you have this misconception about me as this wide-eyed youngster enamored by bright lights and rubbing elbows with big-wigs while being led by the nose and used. Not true. It seems clear we never met, because if you knew me, you’d see that pleasing and/or disappointing any person/people has no bearing on my actions. I’m not a sheep following a shepherd. I’m not in lockstep with a monolith. Hell, I encouraged people in Canarsie to “embarrass the Mayor” into action on issues, and then he endorsed me! I simply remain true to my sense of right and wrong which hasn’t failed me yet.

        – As a side note, I was invited to become active in the party when Chairman Singer was leading it, and refused because I disapproved of the floundering nature of the party at that time. I chose to become active specifically when a change in leadership was made. Now I admit that I’m not a scholar of local political history, but I’m no novice either.

        – I think this last point is probably the most important: I don’t expect the party to “invest” anything in my area. I started something that I will invest in and will work to keep growing from the grassroots up. I and others in my area have taken the initiative to plan the growth of the party in my neck of the woods. We will endeavor to find new candidates that will help grow the base. I don’t expect anyone or any group to help me, but welcome any and all support given. And if you really think about it, if we all waited around for things to happen without putting in the work, would anything get done?

        I said earlier that it seems clear that we never met. I invite you to email me to remedy that.

      • December 31, 2009 2:02 pm

        To Bruno:
        What you saw as unifying the party, I saw as cutting deals with the Democratic machine to allow them to run uncontested rather than challenge them. I also saw that the party went bankrupt under his leadership. I also saw that the leadership was a closed meeting, with no real input or ideas going around. And if you complained about the current website? Yikes.

        I was promised nothing and I asked for nothing when I joined the leadership. I offered my assistance to re-energize what I saw was a listless directionless base. My background is one of civic outreach, not quid pro quo. While I’m poorer financially for it, I sleep quite well at night.

        Your characterization of my outlook for the party locally is totally out of place. There are no subconscious realizations or doubts about leadership. I do not act out of any sense of glory or to be admired, or even to be recognized. My goal is to continue to grow this party so we all benefit.

        If anything, you have given away your pessimism with the system. I encourage you to take my lead. All the best to you and yours in 2010 and beyond.

  6. Susana permalink
    December 30, 2009 12:58 pm

    It was getting to the point where there were comments being posted every other minute! I don’t know if Twitter could take that much stress! lol

  7. Lisa Stazzone permalink
    December 30, 2009 2:39 pm

    Meanwhile, back at the ranch….”Rome burned while Nero fiddled”

    Queens Republicans on the City Council will give party bigger say in borough

    http://www.nydailynews.com/ny_local/queens/2009/12/30/2009-12-30_untitled__newgop30q.html

    What has C.E., aka “The Duke,” done for the borough of Brooklyn?

  8. Simon Magus permalink
    December 30, 2009 11:45 pm

    A lesson for the Brooklyn GOP leadership:

    Acts 8:9-24

    9But there was a certain man, called Simon, which beforetime in the same city used sorcery, and bewitched the people of Samaria, giving out that himself was some great one:

    10To whom they all gave heed, from the least to the greatest, saying, This man is the great power of God.

    11And to him they had regard, because that of long time he had bewitched them with sorceries.

    12But when they believed Philip preaching the things concerning the kingdom of God, and the name of Jesus Christ, they were baptized, both men and women.

    13Then Simon himself believed also: and when he was baptized, he continued with Philip, and wondered, beholding the miracles and signs which were done.

    14Now when the apostles which were at Jerusalem heard that Samaria had received the word of God, they sent unto them Peter and John:

    15Who, when they were come down, prayed for them, that they might receive the Holy Ghost:

    16(For as yet he was fallen upon none of them: only they were baptized in the name of the Lord Jesus.)

    17Then laid they their hands on them, and they received the Holy Ghost.

    18And when Simon saw that through laying on of the apostles’ hands the Holy Ghost was given, he offered them money,

    19Saying, Give me also this power, that on whomsoever I lay hands, he may receive the Holy Ghost.

    20But Peter said unto him, Thy money perish with thee, because thou hast thought that the gift of God may be purchased with money.

    21Thou hast neither part nor lot in this matter: for thy heart is not right in the sight of God.

    22Repent therefore of this thy wickedness, and pray God, if perhaps the thought of thine heart may be forgiven thee.

    23For I perceive that thou art in the gall of bitterness, and in the bond of iniquity.

    24Then answered Simon, and said, Pray ye to the LORD for me, that none of these things which ye have spoken come upon me.

  9. Reality Check permalink
    December 30, 2009 11:47 pm

    Gene B has said this on his blog, fyi:

    I for one am a member of the YRs, and am on friendly terms with the LaGuardia club’s leadership, and while I’m not as familiar with the Brownstone’s leadership(I’ve seen their leadership at YR meetings), I look forward to conversing with them when I can. So I like to think that I have a unique perspective on things.

    I agree about opening more clubs, but I think the existing clubs need greater visibility – and younger membership. We can’t keep relying on the senior citizens of our Party – as great as they are – for shouldering the load. But at the same time, we need old party leaders to embrace the help of newer, younger members.

    I have many ideas that I hope will come to fruition in the months to come that will involve all sides of every “faction”, so keep your eyes open!

  10. Bruno permalink
    December 31, 2009 1:31 am

    Gene B.

    You, my good man, have fallen in the trap.
    What you perceive to be right is wrong, and what you perceive to be wrong is wrong. You are in a no win situation.
    What pray tell was floundering under Hy Singer’s leadership?
    The party was UNIFIED under Hy Singer. It was very convenient for you to decide to come in under new leadership. Perhaps you were promised more? In that end you compromised yourself.

    “I don’t expect the party to “invest” anything in my area.”
    Maybe there is the possibility that you subconsciously realize that the current leadership has nothing to offer, therefore, you have no expectations. It appears that all hope for good leadership is lost by that one telling sentence.

    “And if you really think about it, if we all waited around for things to happen without putting in the work, would anything get done?”
    Nothing has and nothing ever will get done with the lunatics running the asylum. These people do not, will not and never will appreciate all your hard work and heroic efforts that you have done for the party.

    You may not be a wide-eyed youngster, but you are still politically “wet behind the ears”

    Have a wonderful New Year!

    • December 31, 2009 2:03 pm

      To Bruno: (I misplaced my comment to this point in another part of this thread, so I’ll re-publish here. To the Moderators: Feel free to delete the duplicated posting)

      What you saw as unifying the party, I saw as cutting deals with the Democratic machine to allow them to run uncontested rather than challenge them. I also saw that the party went bankrupt under his leadership. I also saw that the leadership was a closed meeting, with no real input or ideas going around. And if you complained about the current website? Yikes.

      I was promised nothing and I asked for nothing when I joined the leadership. I offered my assistance to re-energize what I saw was a listless directionless base. My background is one of civic outreach, not quid pro quo. While I’m poorer financially for it, I sleep quite well at night.

      Your characterization of my outlook for the party locally is totally out of place. There are no subconscious realizations or doubts about leadership. I do not act out of any sense of glory or to be admired, or even to be recognized. My goal is to continue to grow this party so we all benefit.

      If anything, you have given away your pessimism with the system. I encourage you to take my lead. All the best to you and yours in 2010 and beyond.

      • Billy D. permalink
        December 31, 2009 4:58 pm

        Chugging back that eggnog laced Kool-Aid.
        Stol Gene B.

  11. December 31, 2009 10:31 am

    “Our ability to view IP addresses is only meant for the purposes of identifying spam or blocking outrageous and/or fraudulent comments.”

    Be careful, all. This is a very slippery slope and the central reason why I think those who levy the most vicious personal attacks (on BOTH sides) should use their real names when doing so. If you are censoring comments, ensure that this is done in a balanced way across-the-board, which is very difficult to do.

    It may be best just to say if people want to attack others by name repeatedly, they need to use their real names as well. Often, those attackers are too cowardly to use their real names and this stops the petty personal aspects many people reading this blog are opposed to…

    “I hope when this investigation is concluded, we learn just who was behind these attacks.”

    It’s pretty clear that BOTH SIDEs have been “behind these attacks.”

    I have to say, after reading some of what you all are saying are “attacks” that your response to this situation is not the correct one and you will only be forced to do more and more censoring as time moves forward. The best course of action is to run the blog in an upfront and even-handed manner – this will encourage most participants to play by commonly accepted rules of public dialogue.

    I would suggest that the first thing that NEEDS to happen if you want comments, threads and the blog to be taken seriously and for people to comport themselves in an honorable way is to have those who run the site come out publicly. Who runs this thing is the first bit of information that is required.

    If the people who are “censoring” other people’s comments do not come out from behind their own veil of secrecy than you will never stop others from posting vicious lies and innuendo under pseudonyms.

    Everyone knows who runs UE. If something is said or done on there that is unacceptable – to anyone on either side of an issue/discussion – then they know who to contact. And trust me, THEY DO contact me often.

    Here on Atlas, that is not the case and is a fundamental flaw in the way the site is run…

    “Look, whenever Atlas has written a post, it either cites evidence, identifies rumors as rumors or refers to an earlier post that discussed an issue more thoroughly.”

    I wouldn’t exaggerate the honorableness of the posters on Atlas so flippantly. Citing a post that someone else wrote on the site that wasn’t based in fact in the first place, which is done often, is not something the editors of Atlas can hang their hat on…

    As far as discussing who “AAA” is, it could be anyone and it could be a number of people. Honestly, it could be someone from the anti-Eaton crowd who wants to continue the negative conversation. Honestly, this entire site’s comments could be coming from just one or two people for all most of us know. We have no way of knowing as no one uses their real names and there is no registration process to post comments. If you don’t have to register, you can say anything you want under any name you want.

    Seems to me that this is a large part of Atlas’ credibility problem…

    “But the fact that you and others have brought this up and continue to harp on that personally disgusts me. This charity was created by a family whose son has a horrible illness to bring comfort to other families in similar situations, and you use to point to some kind of phantom impropriety like a pawn in a game. A reasonable person would appreciate that there are such kind-hearted, caring people in this world that extend themselves to others, not hold them out for ridicule because they do.”

    I’m glad you brought that up, Gene B. For those of us who have family members afflicted by such illnesses, we understand why people set up charities, etc…and we also understand that within the limited resources every family has, the need to set-up these entities close to home or work is often a matter of convenience. The repeated attacks against Eaton for doing something we all would do under the same circumstances demonstrates the true naivety and, sadly, pettiness of many of the participants of this site. If anything should be “censored,” it is those truly offensive lines of discussion…

    “Queens Republicans on the City Council will give party bigger say in borough”

    The most amazing part about that, Lisa, when it comes judging the performance of our GOP Chairman, is that there are still people who go out everyday and say that Ragusa is a terrible Chairman. That is why many of the people who dislike Eaton would be saying the same thing even if three or more seats were won this year or next.

    The lesson: Internal Party battles are always occurring – whether in electoral success or failure…

    • Sarah permalink
      December 31, 2009 11:05 am

      This was stated on Atlas regarding the MHE Foundation, which you seem to have ignored or are unaware of, Mr. Golub. I think you need to get your facts straight on that one:

      The Chairman then made his appearance and opined in his comment that the not-for-profit is a charity that helps those with a condition from which his son suffers. I will say that we all, regardless of party, must admire anyone who loves and cares for their children and provides charity and service to those in need. While we might have political disagreements, as my partner Dagny Taggart put it, “it’s wonderful that you and your wife are working hard to help others” with this disease. Moreover, while satirized commentary is something every public official must accept, it is clear that any such opinions should strictly discuss the politician’s actions or beliefs, not their personal or family life. Doing so is inexcusable. We here at Atlas refuse to take such tactics. Instead, we have and will continue to investigate, promote reform, and discuss our party officials’ doings and choices—whether beneficial or not.

      But we cannot be distracted by the occasional offhand statement or unsavory comment on an open blog. Those of us concentrating on the issues at hand know how to distinguish between primary and tertiary issues.

      As such, I am dismayed that the Chairman did not take an opportunity to comment on the actual issues that we have endeavored to discuss here and the concerns his constituents have regarding his ineffective leadership. The Chairman could have demonstrated that he is not The Duke we all know him to be and defended his administration against the abysmal round of failures that have accompanied his tenure.

      But instead he decides to tell our readers that he has “nothing to hide here” and monologues about everything but the problems that have brought thousands of his constituents here to Atlas looking for answers.

      https://atlasshrugsinbrooklyn.wordpress.com/2009/12/30/the-best-of-atlas-atlas-contributors-choose-their-favorite-posts-of-2009-%E2%80%93-dagny-taggart/

  12. December 31, 2009 12:20 pm

    “As such, I am dismayed that the Chairman did not take an opportunity to comment on the actual issues that we have endeavored to discuss here and the concerns his constituents have regarding his ineffective leadership.”

    Like which “issue” that Atlas has “endeavored to discuss” are you talking about in particular? Most of the comments on this site call for resignations, legal investigations and involve personal attacks.

    If there are “issues” to be discussed, they are lost in all the other stuff going on.

    So to redirect the conversation in the manner you’d like to see, Sarah, please let’s start discussing “issues”…

  13. Atlas Shrugs in Space permalink
    December 31, 2009 8:25 pm

    Atlas Federation vs. Eaton Goons – Best Hits…

  14. December 31, 2009 10:43 pm

    Sorry Sarah, but those “issues” are weak at best.

    Proxies that have the Chairman’s name on them? What is the problem with that? Is that not legal? Is that not the standard for all the party entities for their elections? Besides, all those people receiving proxies could have showed up to vote in the election any way they wanted…

    “The first person on this blog to call for Eaton to go was Francisco D’Anconia. I think he was the only writer committed from the beginning that Eaton was bad for the party.”

    Not sure what that has to do with my comments, but what is amusing about your point that this was the “first person” to call for “Eaton to go” is that the site has been solely dedicated to that purpose ever since. You prove that point when you say…

    “From what I can see, the blog was addressing issues all along, but maybe you weren’t all taking notice or are new to the blog:”

    …and then go on to link supposedly issue based threads ALL that were written BEFORE this “first person” called for “Eaton to go.”

    Anyone reading this site since September 21st would think the same as I do – that this blog is not talking about issues, but harping hopelessly against leadership with limited discussion about anything constructive or issue based.

    Even the “issue” based threads you highlight spend more time critiquing websites than offering alternative strategies for Republican success.

    Sorry Sarah, but you are clearly unpersuasive…

    “Be a bit more magnanimous, Jay.”

    I’m trying…that’s why I’m still here and continuing the discussion…

    • Moss permalink
      January 1, 2010 3:19 am

      So, I guess you won’t complain when Obama uses taxpayer dollars to send out campaign literature? Because functionally, that’s the equivalent of what you’re condoning, Mr. Golub. Happy New Year, incidentally.

  15. Hylan Blvd permalink
    January 1, 2010 1:57 am

    Jay
    Happy New Year!
    You really suck!

  16. January 1, 2010 11:54 am

    Do you guys actually believe that if there were no names allowed on the Proxies that it would give the challenger a better chance?

    That would be the equivalent of having regular elections with no names on the ballot. Don’t you realize that this would enable the incumbent to win every single time?

    Challengers can put their names on proxies as well and give them out to whomever they think will vote for them.

    I think the real problem the challengers who are calling for “reform” of the proxy-process just don’t have enough votes. Find more votes and I’m sure you’ll have little or no problem with the process…

    • Lucky permalink
      January 2, 2010 6:43 am

      “Do you guys actually believe that if there were no names allowed on the Proxies that it would give the challenger a better chance?”

      Uh, yeah! How about earning your position instead of duping people into signing as though the party has sanctioned the reelection of its failed leader. Sounds like a Chavez tactic to me.

  17. January 2, 2010 8:56 am

    “Uh, yeah! How about earning your position instead of duping people into signing as though the party has sanctioned the reelection of its failed leader.”

    Uh, how can someone be “duped” into voting on a proxy for someone? If a person is “duped” by anything, they shouldn’t be on the committee and I doubt anyone’s efforts to inform them would prove fruitful.

    “Chavez tactics?” What a naive exaggeration.

    People should remember, the proxy was only necessary if the committee member wasn’t going to show up to vote in person. Chavez didn’t give people the right to vote for whomever they wanted. The Brooklyn GOP certainly did.

    There just were not enough people who voted against Eaton. The Chairman had the votes and the support. Stop with the sour-grapes act and let’s move on to bigger and better things and, if you like, try at it again next leadership year…

    • Lucky permalink
      January 2, 2010 3:49 pm

      But that’s exactly it. People are placed on county committee who are not familiar with the process or are just BOE workers. So when the time comes to elect a new chairman, he CAN dupe everyone because no one knows how the system works.

      Now, I would have no problem with a candidate for Chairman sending out proxy forms if he did it on his own dime and issued his own proxy forms. But to have the Chairman utilize the money of the party and send it with the party’s stamp of approval? You don’t see a problem with that?

  18. January 2, 2010 10:12 pm

    “But that’s exactly it. People are placed on county committee who are not familiar with the process or are just BOE workers.”

    Lucky, then it shouldn’t be difficult to run someone against them and take the position over, no? Again, this was what was determined with the vote for leadership. It’s over. If you guys really have something that can grow and build, do it. Then taking over county committee slots will be simple, no?

    This is an important election year. it’s time for all of us to move on and work to gain seats this year, especially in Albany…

    “But to have the Chairman utilize the money of the party and send it with the party’s stamp of approval? You don’t see a problem with that?”

    First of all, the mailing will always have the “stamp of approval” from the Party because the Chairman is the duly-elected spokesman and leader for the party. He was elected to give his support to causes and candidates – including himself.

    Second, I don’t know how much the mailings could have cost the Kings County GOP, but whether or not they “should” have come from the Party, it’s irrelevant! It’s a few hundred dollars – certainly not the difference in the election or the demonstration of significantly unfair electoral advantage.

    Right or wrong – and I won’t weigh in on that point without doing some research and learning the facts – the point that the party paid for Proxies clearly was NOT the difference in the race. It’s a tangential point at best – not really worthy of much more discussion.

    As has been brought up on UE, I don’t believe the problem in the Party process is proxies…

    http://www.urbanelephants.com/index.php/component/content/2042.html?task=view#pc_6331

    …I think it’s just that the anti-establishment just doesn’t have enough votes. If you want to make a difference in the party leadership, just start organizing for 2011…

    • Tommy Nast permalink
      January 2, 2010 10:38 pm

      This is the highest form of political corruption within the party! What kind of a reformer are you? That money is raised for candidates and the necessary operations of the party. If the chair needs his own private campaign fund, let him raise it. To use party funds in any way that directly supports his re-election is not only unethical, but should be patently illegal!

      Think of it: the challengers must wait until the party sends out the official notice of the convention to know when it will be held so they can distribute and collect validly executed proxies. If the chair prints his name on the initial proxies that are sent out, it already has cost the challengers a significant portion of the vote, since this will be the first opportunity for someone to ask for their proxy. Moreover, there is no notice requirement as to when the notices have to be sent out, so it might even be impossible to get valid proxies signed and returned for the convention. Worst of all, the party bribes county committee members with the statement that if you sign you don’t need to show up. Then who would sign someone else’s proxy? How perfect is that, and all on the party’s dime! THIS IS WRONG!

      There are a few things that should be changed immediately. It should be a requirement that the official notice of the convention be mailed out at least 10-15 days before the convention. It should be illegal for the party chairman or anyone else to pre-print their name on any proxy form mailed out at the county’s expense. Any proxy form with a name printed on it should be required to state explicitly that it was not printed at the county committee’s expense, but the official notice of the convention MUST be sent out at the county’s expense. There are probably a few more changes that should be made, but those are the biggest.

      Anything less than that allows and even encourages Republicans to behave like Tammany Hall Democrats.

      If you reply that everyone else does it, then let everyone else be corrupt degenerates who pack conventions and manipulate votes. But don’t tell Brooklyn Republicans that we have to put up with this kind of corruption!

      • Bruno permalink
        January 2, 2010 11:27 pm

        Excellent points Tommy. Jay is so used to corruption that he takes it point on fact.
        BTW Jay, Who did you support in Serf Maltese’s last race?
        Never got around to answering that did you?

      • January 3, 2010 9:02 am

        Like I said before many times, this process of Proxies is not “corruption.” Rank-and-file county committee members along with everyone else have short-notice of the EXACT DATE of the vote, but EVERYONE who has any experience in the political world knows that the date of the election will be within a certain period of time after the date of the Primary – I’m sure that is in the bylaws of the County Organization. In Queens, Ragusa’s opponents were lining up votes at meetings with loyal CC members to their cause WELL BEFORE any election was called.

        Besides, all anyone who doesn’t like the leadership that exists needed to do was get those people to actually show up to a vote and this supposedly corrupt process of proxies would become irrelevant.

        But like you guys here in Brooklyn, the guys in Queens just didn’t have the votes. So instead of accepting that they are in the significant minority, they pester pointlessly against the Party’s legitimate leaders. Unlike the Brooklyn dissenters, the Queens dissenters make the county organization waste precious resources in Court – dealing with frivolous lawsuits and specious claims based upon the same failed logic being expressed here that this process is “corrupt.”

        Of course, every judge they ever bring this stuff up with tosses their lawsuts out, confirming that what is being done is completely within the rules and legal. Your claims of illegality are similarly frivolous and are really nothing more than sour grapes. Why can’t you guys just move on already?

        Why can’t you write about more important concepts on this blog, like the fact that the MTA has cut important routes in Bay Ridge? Isn’t that more important that this stuff? That is what the people who are voting care about – not fallacious claims of “corruption”…

        Bruno, again you ask something about Serf Maltese’s race. What are you talking about? Which race? Not sure what you are talking about…

      • Tommy Nast permalink
        January 3, 2010 11:15 am

        You must be chatting a lot with the Bay Ridge Cabal lately because do you really think only Bay Ridge is targeted for mass transit service reductions? What about downtown Brooklyn? What about Flatbush, or Boro Park, or Eastern Brooklyn? This is exactly what we’re talking about when people complain about the myopia of the party establishment. It’s not all about Bay Ridge. In fact, because it has been, that’s why we are in the mess we are now.

        You completely ignored the fact that I acknowledged the legality of the proxies. However, I stated definitively that it is grossly unethical. It is a process that distorts the ability of two or more sides to compete with equal opportunity over the direction of the county. The incumbent always has clout, but it is shameful to argue that they should abuse every opportunity they have within their power as incumbents to swing the election PROCESS in their favor only because they can. I guess, by that logic, you are a big fan of Kendall Stewart, Efrain Gonzalez and the like, who did the same with our tax dollars.

        Oh, in case you haven’t noticed, we are here talking about fixing the Republican Party. In my opinion, if you want to shoot the breeze about the issues, that’s what talk radio and cafes are for.

  19. A Different Young Republican permalink
    January 3, 2010 12:26 pm

    Jay didn’t get the proxie. He doesnt understand what Eaton did.

  20. Bruno permalink
    January 3, 2010 1:39 pm

    Jay
    Who did you support in Maltese’s last campaign in 2008?
    You keep on avoiding the question like the plague.
    Keep your interests in Queens where they belong,
    You are clueless abut Brooklyn. Bay Ridge is not the only area in Brooklyn.

  21. January 3, 2010 8:31 pm

    “You must be chatting a lot with the Bay Ridge Cabal lately because do you really think only Bay Ridge is targeted for mass transit service reductions? What about downtown Brooklyn? What about Flatbush, or Boro Park, or Eastern Brooklyn?”

    Tommy, which cuts to these areas are you specifically talking about? From what I’ve learned, the cuts are deepest in Bay Ridge. If this isn’t true, please explain to me where I’m wrong.

    Honestly, I was offering you something actually legitimate that you can use against your so-called “Bay Ridge Cabal.” You want to talk about “proxies.” I think it’s best to talk about organizing. If you wanted to organize people in a positive, constructive and long-term fruitful way, you’d take an issue like this and galvanize seniors inside the “Cabal.” Then, you’d actually have something to offer “leadership” and the Party and would get more power while making the GOP stronger.

    “Oh, in case you haven’t noticed, we are here talking about fixing the Republican Party.”

    The best way to “fix” the Republican Party is to call a time-out on the internal fighting being encouraged on this site and make the best of this 2010 election season.

    And to all those comments that I don’t know “what’s going on in Brooklyn,” my central concern is the 2010 election cycle for the GOP at-large – and the issues that basically bind us. In my view, nothing is more important – especially when it is not a leadership year – than fighting to take back the NY State Senate.

    We all need to get on the same page this year – even if next year we decide to go at it again…

    • Gerald D. permalink
      January 4, 2010 12:07 am

      We should work to help the candidates we believe in, yes, for the sake of Brooklyn. I’m not doing what I’m doing or donating any money to candidates this year because of the party and its so-called “leadership.” I’m doing it only if I truly believe in the candidate.

      Eaton and his ilk have done nothing to earn my trust given everything I’ve read on this blog. He can whine about their methods, but Atlas has produced a fair share of legitimate criticism that he has not addressed. He lost my support because of that.

Trackbacks

  1. The Best of Atlas: Atlas Contributors Choose their Favorite Posts of 2009 – Dagny Taggart « Atlas Shrugs in Brooklyn

Comments are closed.

